Skip to content
December 31, 2010 / John Sieger

Heartjacker

Click’N’Play: Heartjacker

 

This is another demo from Blue Planet in Nashville in the ’90s. I want to say it’s Rick Schell on drums and Lorne Rall on bass and I think I would be right. It is definitely Bill Dwyer on guitar. Bill is a singular talent, though it’s hard to express what he does, aside from the fact that it’s always right. His playing, which is roots-based, has a touch of jazz. He’s a big fan of Chicago blues and has a mean-ass shuffle that works with or without drums. For this session, he put a mic on a little Fender Bronco amp and ran the output through a Super Reverb. I never would have thought of that. I worked J. Edgar into the tag and I’m glad he was long gone when I mentioned his name — he was the kind of guy who would put you on a list. Just like Santa.

 

© John Sieger

Leave a Reply

