Skip to content
December 19, 2010 / John Sieger

Santa Drop A Bale

Santa Drop A Bale

This one seems self explanatory. It exists on that wild frontier between loving Christmas the way you are supposed to and wanting to have an accident so you can hide out in a hospital uuntil it’s all over. I imagine everyone feels that way, but then I have a vivid imagination. It was triggered by a Facebook comment my friend Jeff DeMark made a couple days ago regarding an artist he likes. He suggested the MacArthur Foundation drop a bale of cash on his roof. Not sure if I have heard that expression before, but it seems pleasantly seasonal. If Santa would find it in his heart to drop a bale on me this year, I would consider running right up to the roof to meet him with some milk, cookies and a maybe little something to keep him warm. I write lots of Christmas songs and will have a special new one for Christmas morning — so I’m not all Scroogey, just a tad around the edges. Production Note: I would like to thank the Hummin’ League, who took time off from their busy holiday schedule to stop by and provide backing vocals. They are one of my favorite new wave bands, right up there with A Flock Of Reindeer.

© 2010 John Sieger

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dave standridge / Dec 19 2010 1:21 pm

    Dang. I asked Santa for a revolving line of credit. I shoulda waited ’till I listened to this.

  2. John Sieger / Dec 19 2010 1:38 pm

    Hey Dave… Got your CD/card. Thanks for the TDJ plug. I’m heading out for a listen in my portable control room/car.

    John

    • dave standridge / Dec 19 2010 3:10 pm

      Hope you have a DVD player in that remote location…

  3. Annie Dubats / Dec 21 2010 3:05 pm

    Boy, did the title lead me astray. I pictured a plane dropping a big green bale of Christmas cheer, ala Bob marley= who cares about the bills?

Leave a Reply

