Skip to content
December 5, 2010 / John Sieger

A Woman And The Weather

01 A Woman & The Weather 8-25

If Michael Feldman appears to be on an epic scale in this drawing I did of him, that’s how he appeared in my eyes when he gave me the lyrics to this song. This was the late ’70s and we were starting to hit some kind of artistic stride. I have been trying to figure out what to do with this song ever since. I don’t know that I am the artist to sing it, it’s almost adult contemporary in mood and it requires something more than the jazz dabbler I am on guitar. It would be great if Tony Bennett was reading this post today and heard it. If you know him, please forward it! At the time it was written, I was feeling a need to create a more “grown up” kind of music — the rock’n’roll and folk of my youth seemed to be too easy or something. I have since healed that useless schism in my brain and can now appreciate everything from field hollers to Gershwin. Reggie Bourdeax, the gifted drummer for Paul Cebar’s Tomorrow Sound helps out on this demo and I get off a pretty nice acoustic solo — but , if you are out there Tony, please steal this song!

SING ALONG!

A woman and the weather – come and go together – and you can’t change – a cloudy sky – the thunder and the lightning – keep the world exciting – but they don’t help – to keep it dry – no they don’t help to keep it dry

The air is charged round you – the wind it will astound you – it just might blow – your home away – in the morning the sun is shining – just to keep you from – resigning – while the clouds – plan another day – while the clouds plan another day

© 2010  John Sieger / Michael Feldman

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Annie Dubats / Dec 8 2010 7:03 am

    Vince and I both really like this.

    I like your vocals alot. Somehow the mix of scratch and sweet sounds like the “real ” John’s voice for me.

    • John Sieger / Dec 8 2010 8:02 am

      Thanks Annie… it’s very grown up, no? Everyone should know about the Wizard by the way:

  2. SWMBO / Dec 10 2010 11:07 am

    Love this song. How ’bout Cassandra Wilson? Get her folks on the line, pronto.

Leave a Reply

