Skip to content
December 2, 2010 / John Sieger

You Love Everybody

You Love Everybody

There is a song and a collection of thoughts today, no big theme. Lyrics by Michael Feldman — maybe the story of someone who wants to save the world but isn’t doing a whole lot at the local level? I can only guess. I always crack up my first reading of his lyrics. There will always be something that makes perfect, twisted sense, something I never would have gotten to. It’s amazing. “You love everybody…. everyone but me!” At the time in the early “oughts” I played with John Carr and Mike Fredrickson in a neat little band called El Supremo, they’re on this demo. I recorded it on my old rig, a Roland VS system and the results often fell short of the sonic perfection people achieve with Pro Tools, which is what I now use. Somehow this one snuck through and has a little vibe going. I’ve always wanted to to sing a song in falsetto and I gave it a try on the first verse. I also always wanted a “moaning” chorus and put one on here. Thank you Rolling Stones for both ideas. Instead of a drawing, I thought it would be fun to show you a picture of my first band rehearsing in the family living room on 74th St. in Kenosha, where I grew up. Left to right we have: Mike Lill, Mike Sieger (on guitar!), John Sieger (on bass!) and Pat LaFitte. Photo by my brother Bill Sieger, who built a darkroom in the basement and took a lot of great photos. The family artist, very under-rated.

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. trevor / Dec 2 2010 9:58 am

    love the tempo of this one and the way you opened up the registers in the attic. see you at Cafe Carpe December 8th!

    • John Sieger / Dec 2 2010 5:06 pm

      Glad you dig… see you at The Carpe!

  2. Annie Dubats / Dec 2 2010 1:24 pm

    Love the picture!!! One of ‘Vince’s best friends, miffed at the fact that they’d go into a bar together and soon Vince would be everybody’s best friend once said ” You Love Everybody” to him. guess we all want to feel special-

    Like the feel

    • John Sieger / Dec 2 2010 5:05 pm

      I feel sorry for that bass player and what he’s heading into… but it all came out all right! Pat LaFitte lived in a trailer and was descended, rumor has it, from the pirate. He was a cool cat!

  3. Anja Notanja / Dec 2 2010 11:53 pm

    He most certainly is!

    • John Sieger / Dec 3 2010 4:41 pm

      Hi anja… Yes I most certainly is!

  4. Don Richards / Dec 5 2011 12:10 pm

    John — that sure looks like the Pat Lafitte that I was in the Army with at Ft. Belvoir, Virginia from fall ’67 to early spring ’69. I’ve tried to find him on Facebook but of course, Pat Lafitte is a very common name both in the US and in French speaking countries. A couple of his Army buddies would like to know whatever became of him. Thanks for any info you might provide.

    Don Richards, formerly
    SP5 Richards, Donald G.
    600th Engr Co (Svc)
    Ft. Belvoir, VA 22060

    • John Sieger / Dec 5 2011 12:32 pm

      Hi Don,

      Lost track of Pat long ago. He and my brother Mike played folk music before they both went in the service. They were good friends and I was the slightly younger tag along. He was a very cool guy and lived in a trailer south of town. We all thought that was as great as it got. He also had a big old Bonneville convertible that we’d pile into and travel 40 miles to Milwaukee to hang out a folk clubs. Wish I could help you find him. If you do locate him, say the Siegers say hi.
      John

      • Don Richards / Dec 5 2011 12:48 pm

        That “big old Bonneville” was well-travelled. Permanent-post in the stateside Army was much like a regular job. After 5:00 PM you were free to come and go as long as you made it back for morning formation. In that regard, and like many of the other guys, Pat brought his car down from home. It was a ’59 brown Bonneville and with it we’d cruise into DC almost every night on our off-hours, drinking beer, trying to pick-up girls and, ultimately, get laid. (He was a lot more successful at the latter than I was.) Later he had a green Sprite so he let me takeover the Pontiac. I used it to haul soldiers waiting for a bus into DC and charged them five dollars per for a ‘ride now’ as opposed to waiting for ‘cheaper bus ride later.’ Eventually Pat got rid of the Sprite and bought a white fiber-glassed body Daimler. Cars were still made of steel back then so the Daimler was quite unique in that day. Thanks for the reply, John. Best wishes to you and yours.

      • John Sieger / Dec 5 2011 2:43 pm

        Thanks Don… I can imagine Pat doing well with the girls, he never was too slow in that dept. back here. I thought the Bonneville was newer than 1959, but I guess if you bought it, you’d be pretty darn familiar with it. He and Mike were were pretty good wrenches and, along with a another neighbor, there was always something half torn down in the garage. I owe Pat a lot, he and my brother kept playing when I had petty much given up and got me back into to music. I still play and write… I guess that would be obvious from the blog. Anyway, happy holidays.
        John

  5. Don Richards / Dec 5 2011 3:48 pm

    We might be talking about two different Bonnevilles, John. The one he brought down to Belvoir was a hardtop, four-door, definitely a ’59. And I didn’t buy it. I just had the use of it for the time when he had both the Sprite and the Pontiac at Belvoir.

    Girls — yeah, he sure had a way with them. For part of the time that we were stationed together, he was living off-post on the weekends with a former Miss Maryland.

    • John Sieger / Dec 5 2011 4:29 pm

      Sounds like Pat! That explains the Pontiac mystery. I think up here he was driving ’63 or so and it was a convertible. Lot of muscle. I think Pat may have wound up being one of those air marshals on commercial flights. Must have been the stewardesses.
      Let me know if you ever find him.

      • Don Richards / Dec 5 2011 7:33 pm

        One last thing, John. Can you put a date on that photo at the top?

      • John Sieger / Dec 5 2011 9:02 pm

        It had to be mid sixties. I’m sure we were all in high school still. One of my first bands.. so ’65 or ’66.
        That was our living room, where my extremely patient and indulgent mom allowed us to practice.

      • John Sieger / Dec 5 2011 10:04 pm

        And the bad news from my brother Mike…

        I talked to Terry Shultz (via fb) a couple months ago and he told me that Pat had died about 5 years ago. I don’t know if I told you that. Terry didn’t include any details except that he has a 25-yr old daughter who lives in LA. Her name is Michelle and, of course, bears a striking resemblance to her dad. You can find her on fb too in case you wanted to pass that on to Don Richards.

  6. Don Richards / Dec 6 2011 9:38 am

    Thanks for the follow-up John, and thank your brother for me too. Sorry to hear that news. I’ll try and contact Michelle. I’ve got a picture of Pat taken in the barracks in ’68 that she might like to have.

    • John Sieger / Dec 6 2011 4:46 pm

      Michelle must be his daughter, I’m assuming… Ask if she’d like the band picture. My brother and Pat were really good friends. They took a trip down to Texas once, if I remember correctly. Sorry to be the messenger with that sad news.

  7. Don Richards / Dec 7 2011 8:03 am

    I’ll pass your offer on to Michelle. Thanks for everything John.

Leave a Reply

