Skip to content
November 28, 2010 / John Sieger

Jesco White

01 Jesco White

This is the first time I’ve ever written a song and posted immediately, here’s the story. On Friday, Beezer Hill, a good buddy from work and a paragon of taste, gave me a DVD called “The Wild and Wonderful Whites of West Virginia.” It is the story of an unbelievable clan of fuckups (first and last time I’ll ever use that word in this blog, but it is just so apt!) who share a love of guns, drugs, trouble and some weird fusion of clog and tap dancing. At the very head of this wave of mayhem is the indescribable Jesco White. Maybe ten years of sniffing gas isn’t a good idea I was thinking as I watched him give a tour of the places he’s robbed in his home town or dance on a picnic table with Hank Williams III singing his praises. To get Hank III in your corner, you have to be a genuine hillbilly legend from hell. YOU MUST SEE THIS MOVIE! The music in it is great, especially Deke Dickersons instrumentals, but I kept thinking they missed out on a chance to sing a song that wasn’t just flat out praise for a guy you would cross the street to avoid. I also had the thought that, if we want to build fences to keep scary people out, we mighty already be too late. I’ve also had the notion to write a song with the line “somebody’s shaking the family tree” for a long time and, as I lay in bed this morning still hung over form this extremely disturbing portrait of a beat down corner of our country, words started popping into my head. This is always a call to arms — when I hear voices in my head, I need to write a song. When Jesco White hears them, it’s good policy to hide somewhere.

 

© 2010 John Sieger

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dave standridge / Nov 28 2010 7:28 pm

    Well done.
    Perhaps that authentic feral child was shaken from the same family tree..?

    • John Sieger / Nov 28 2010 7:58 pm

      Absolutely crossed my mind. I guess I’m thinking about my childhood and the rougher parts of the midwest like Kenosha and Flint. But they both look like paradise compared to Boone County West VA, or at least the one described in this documentary:

  2. Misa / Nov 29 2010 9:20 am

    My kind of cadence. Love it. Hope you continue to wake up to words swirling around in your head.

    • John Sieger / Nov 29 2010 2:31 pm

      Thanks Misa, the Whites are our kind of people!

  3. Annie Dubats / Nov 30 2010 7:50 am

    Love the vocal iterlude John. It really conveys the hillblly feeling.

    • John Sieger / Nov 30 2010 8:51 am

      Thanks Annie… what do you call a northern hillbilly?

Leave a Reply

