Skip to content
November 23, 2010 / John Sieger

’92

’92You have to love a song title that starts with an apostrophe… it’s the law! This one is long, maybe too long and boy it is dreary — a good November song, even though it takes place in April. And did I mention it also has a quiet sense of dread? What else can you ask for? The lyrics are by Michael Feldman (You really owe it to yourself to check out Whad’ya Know? ). My very favorite line is “Because I was so happy, I thought that you were too.” That should be in the dictionary under the word ‘fool.’ I imagined this story when I first read the words. The happy-go-lucky guy described by that simple line is living with his shoplifter girlfriend on Sheridan Road in Kenosha. It’s a relentlessly cold April and under the clouds something is brewing that might not be so wonderful. He’s going to be shopping for a cot at K-Mart shortly and looking at cheap apartments. Eventually, he’ll be able to look back at the whole thing and laugh. He might even get a song out of it.

P.S. As of today I’m going to be putting this under all of my posts:

© 2010 John Sieger.

Let’s just assume that all earlier posts have this, because I don’t want to go back and edit every one!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hazy Dave / Dec 11 2010 9:24 am

    John, I caught your interview segment on WMSE yesterday, so I’ve been investigating your impressively ambitious project yesterday into this morning. (I’m glad I didn’t hear about it six months from now – I’m sure the task of ‘catching up’ would be far too daunting!) Good stuff. I enjoy the stories and drawings, too. Particularly this cartoon. It’s got a real “New Yorker” quality to it, in my opinion, and timely, too. I wonder if it’s too late in this year to mail it to their cartoon editor? Well, good luck, and carry on!

    • John Sieger / Dec 11 2010 11:24 am

      New Yorker is definitely the big leagues! Glad you like!

Leave a Reply

