Skip to content
November 21, 2010 / John Sieger

Won’t Sit Back And Cry No More (Part One)

06 Won’t Sit Back (Bonita Thompson)

In the late ’70s, I was writing a lot of songs with Michael Feldman. He took complicated ideas and cooked them down to a few choice words. When we wrote this song, I felt we were starting to sneak up on something really good and it was pretty exciting. Lagging behind by a few hundred yards was my voice, which still sounded a little unsure and slightly adenoidal. At the time I played in a band called The Starboys and we occasionally backed a singer by the name of Bonita Thompson. She sang a kind of supper club soul that was very polished and warm. I told her about this song and she agreed to sing a demo version. Her take on it was stylish, extremely soulful and alarming, to say the least. Since then I have had the good fortune of hearing my songs sung by some really talented singers — it’s always a thrill, but this was the first time it happened and it shook me up. There was a giant gulf between her voice and the wheedling thing I was using. I started working on it that very day. Thanks Bonita, wherever you are, I hope someone is enjoying that beautiful voice!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mefeld / Nov 21 2010 4:15 pm

    she shivered my timbers, too! mikey

    • John Sieger / Nov 21 2010 4:44 pm

      Tomorrow the updated version…

  2. Alli / Nov 21 2010 5:03 pm

    You’re right John….I DID really like this song. Loved it actually.

  3. dave / Nov 22 2010 11:49 am

    nice song , but Bonita’s voice makes this the better version with me .

    • John Sieger / Nov 23 2010 10:12 am

      Absolutely right Dave… those are some golden tonsils!

  4. Hazy Dave / Dec 11 2010 9:43 am

    Heh, maybe with another 55 years, even I could learn to sing, too. Nice demo, though it would sound even nicer if the left channel had some signal in it too, not to be too much of a technical purist complainer…

    • John Sieger / Dec 11 2010 11:25 am

      Can’t do much about this one, it’s like 85 years old! A field recording from a different era.

Leave a Reply

