Skip to content
November 8, 2010 / John Sieger

Birmingham

01 Birmingham

I drove through Birmingham once and also know someone who lived there briefly. I might be the least expert person there is on the subject of Alabama’s capitol, if indeed it is. (It’s not, I have been informed, Montogmery is.) It’s kind of nervy to write about stuff you don’t know, but songwriting itself is an act of nerve. I try not to let a lack of knowledge keep me from expressing something that feels right. With this one, I kind of stumbled upon the idea for the first verse and followed a thread to the end. I’m not even really sure what it’s about, but it does sound like it’s about something! So the best I can say is that it is a fairly honest lie… I hope you enjoy it.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. trevor / Nov 14 2010 12:42 pm

    wow…just wow!

  2. dave standridge / Nov 27 2010 11:03 pm

    Really glad you’ve undertaken this song-a-day journey. I don’t know much about history but I do believe you’re writing better now than ever (or at least in the three years I’ve been paying attention…).
    Happy trails, Johnny!

    • John Sieger / Nov 27 2010 11:18 pm

      Thanks Dave… It’s no “Dick,” but I try!

  3. michael kloman / Aug 16 2011 1:40 pm

    i like this song a *lot* … i’m not from birmingham either, and my take is that you don’t have to be “get” the song, which feature a great set of lyrics.

Leave a Reply

