Skip to content
November 4, 2010 / John Sieger

If I Could Look Away

06 If I Could Look Away

I wrote this in Nashville in the mid ’90s. I think that was the temperature too, it usually was. I recorded the demo at Steve Allen’s Blue Planet Studio. The lovely and talented Joan Besen plays piano, she is in the Juno-winning Canadian band, Prairie Oyster. Wrestler and wrestling ref Lorne Rall is on bass, and, I think, Rick the funky realtor Schell plays the drums. I like the chords, I like the words and I give the beat a 90, as they used to say on Dick Clark. It’s a song about avoidance, a theme I like.

Here are the pretty basic lyrics:

If I Could Look Away

Whoa I could stop my self from knowing

If I could look away

All this hurt that keeps on growing

If I could look away

But something just won’t let me

This heartbreak’s out to get me

I could hide from what you’re showing

If I could look away

Yeah if I could look away

I wouldn’t see it come to this

If I could look away

And I could lead a life of bliss

If I could look away

But oh my eyes are open

And that just keeps me hopin’

That I might find some happiness

If I could look away

Yeah if I could look away

I could spare myself the hurtin’

That I’m going to feel for certain

I wouldn’t have to know a thing

If I could look away

Yeah if I could look away

I hope this hurts, in  good way! Tomorrow something a little happier… or maybe not.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mefeld / Nov 4 2010 1:24 pm

    hurts in the best possible way but can we hear it, hey? xoxo mefeld

    • mefeld / Nov 4 2010 1:25 pm

      never mind I got it–great song!

  2. Annie Dubats / Nov 5 2010 1:09 am

    Like the lyrics, but for me to be a song I have to hear the music. The whole flow is what makes me go.

    • John Sieger / Nov 5 2010 8:44 am

      Hit “read more” and listen!

  3. Misa / Nov 5 2010 7:12 am

    Wow, John. Wow. Beautiful. Real. Relevant. I remain ~ a constant fan.

    • John Sieger / Nov 5 2010 8:44 am

      Thanks Misa, you made my day!

  4. dave matzner / Nov 15 2010 10:05 am

    nice pleasent tune ; its hard to write good simple songs

    • John Sieger / Nov 15 2010 5:26 pm

      Thanks dave, I appreciate your comments. Take me with you to Mexico!
      John

Leave a Reply

